Welcome  |  Follow us

WF Youth

  /  WF Youth   /  UKYP Members Announced

UKYP Members Announced

Wakefield members of the UK Youth Parliament announced
The names of four young people who will represent the Wakefield district in the UK Youth Parliament have been announced.
The following candidates were elected at a formal ceremony on Wednesday February 9 at Wakefield Town Hall. (WATCH HERE)
They are:
– Member of UKYP (West) Toheed Khan, aged 16 from Outwood Grange Academy
– Deputy Member of UKYP (West) Nina Smith, aged 15 from Wakefield Girls High School
– Member of UKYP (East) Daniel Hopkins, aged 15 from The Kings High School.
– Deputy Member of UKYP (East) Zac Gaskell, aged 12 from Minsthorpe Community College
They will now take their place at the UK Youth Parliament and represent the Wakefield District.
Their election was decided by 11-18 year olds in the district who were entitled to vote online for their preferred candidate. Eight schools were represented with 12 candidates standing for a seat in the Parliament.
The members of UKYP will represent the young people of the district and take forward regional and national campaigns and will have the opportunity to debate at the House of Commons.
Councillor Margaret Isherwood, Wakefield Council’s Cabinet Member for Children and Young People, said: “Congratulations to the winning candidates. It’s fantastic to see young people taking the lead in campaigning and raising awareness on local and national issues. I wish them well.”
The stated aim of the UK Youth Parliament is to empower young people, under the age of 25, to influence and inform the decisions that affect their lives.
The journey of the four local members can be followed on the WFYouth (wfyouth.co.uk) social media platforms.